Religions in India - Sikhism

History of Ten Sikh Gurus

Guru Nanak (1469-1539)
Started Sikhism. (He did not wish to establish a new religion, but after his death his followers consolidated their own practices and distinguished themselves from both Hindus and Muslims.)
Guru Angad (1539-1552)
Created a new script, Gurumukhi
Guru Amar Das (1552-1574)
Made langar an integral part of Sikhism
Guru Ram Das (1574-1581)
Founded the city of Amritsar
Guru Arjan Dev(1581-1606)
Built the Golden Temple in Amritsar and compiled the holy Granth Sahib
Guru Hargobind(1606-1644)
Erected the Akal Takht
Guru Har Rai(1644-1661)
Guru Har Krishan(1656-1664)
Guru Tegh Bahadur(1664-1675)
Was executed under Aurangzeb’s orders
Guru Govind Singh (1675-1708)
Transferred the authority of the guru to the Adi Granth (Guru Granth Sahib) and organized the Sikhs into a martial group called the Khalsa. Also, assumed the title of Singh.
He defined five symbols: uncut hair, a dagger, a pair of shorts, a comb and a steel bangle

  • After Aurangzeb's death, Guru Gobind Singh joined Bahadur Shah’s camp as a noble of the rank of 5000 zat and 5000 sawar and accompanied him to the Deccan where he was treacherously murdered by one of his Pathan employees
  • After Guru Gobind Singh's death, and the leadership of the Sikhs passed to his trusted disciple Banda Singh, who is more widely known as Banda Bahadur
Previous Post

Next Post