UPSC CSAT Syllabus

UPSC CSAT Syllabus

Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT) - Syllabus

About CSAT

  • CSAT stands for Civil Services Aptitude Test. It is a part of the UPSC Prelims (Civil Services Exam – Preliminary).
  • However, the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) refers to the exam as General Studies (GS) Paper – II. Hence, in the context of UPSC Prelims, GS Paper II refers to the CSAT

CSAT Syllabus – GS Paper II – UPSC Prelims

CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test) syllabus for UPSC Prelims shall comprise the following broad categories:

  1. Comprehension
  2. Interpersonal skills including communication skills
  3. Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  4. Decision-making and problem-solving
  5. General mental ability
  6. Basic numeracy (numbers and their relations, orders of magnitude, etc.) (Class X level), Data interpretation (charts, graphs, tables, data sufficiency, etc. – Class X level)

Uncomfortable with CSAT, check out -

UPSC CSAT exam pattern:

  • Maximum Marks: 200
  • Number of questions: 80 Objective-Type Questions (MCQs)
  • 2.5 Marks for every correct question
  • Negative Marking: 1/3rd of the maximum marks for the question, i.e. 2.5/3 marks
  • Time: 2 hours
  • Language of CSAT exam paper: English/Hindi
  • CSAT qualifying marks: 66 (33% qualifying criteria)
  • Questions are asked on - Langauge Comprehension, Quantitative Aptitude, Logical Reasoning and Verbal Reasoning.

Read more posts about UPSC CSAT -

Next Post